Latest News

Guthrie Cosponsors Bill to Award Congressional Gold Medals to 13 Fallen Service Members

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Brett Guthrie (KY-02) cosponsored legislation to posthumously award 13 U.S. service members, who gave the ultimate sacrifice in Afghanistan last week, the Congressional Gold Medal.

The Congressional Gold Medal would be awarded to Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, Cpl. Daegan W. Page, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, and Hospitalman Maxton W. Soviak.

“While the Congressional Gold Medal is one of Congress’ highest honors, this is a small token compared to the ultimate sacrifice 13 U.S. service members gave on August 26th. They bravely worked and put themselves at risk to safely evacuate American citizens and Afghan allies. I’ll never forget the 13 U.S. service members’ sacrifices, and this congressional honor would ensure their legacy is remembered in our country’s history for generations to come,” said Guthrie.