Congressional App Challenge

It’s with great enthusiasm that I host the Congressional App Challenge for middle and high school students who reside or attend school in the 2nd Congressional District of Kentucky each year. STEM skills, particularly those surrounding coding and computer science, are essential for America’s economic growth and innovation, and I am looking forward to connecting with the Second District’s bright young coders through the Congressional App Competition.   

This is an opportunity for either a student, or a team of up to 4 students, to showcase their coding skills by creating an app that will compete against other Kentucky students. This competition provides the opportunity to showcase the accomplishments and skills of our local students. I highly encourage students to participate, even if they have never coded before. This is a great opportunity for Kentucky students to develop new skills. The winning app is eligible to be displayed at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C. and will be featured on, the House of Representatives' website. Apps will be judged by computer science professionals from around the 2nd Congressional District.

Click HERE for the 2021 Congressional App Challenge flyer.

Click HERE for the 2021 Congressional App Challenge rules.

Click HERE for the Congressional App Challenge website.

Important Dates:

May - Student pre-registration opens

June 24 - Congressional App Challenge officially launches

November 1 - Deadline for students to register and submit their app online

November - Judging period

December - Second District Congressional App Challenge winners announced

Call 270-842-9896 or email if you have any additional questions.

A full list of 2020 winners can be found below:

Overall First Place:

Gracelyn Deweese, Cathern Goodman, Collin Graves, and Melena Hughes

Barren County High School


Overall Second Place:

Nick Kang, Tucker Strow

Bowling Green High School

Mobile Phone Assistance

Overall Third Place:

Craig Bertke, Kash Leslie, and Ada Parris

Apollo High School

Go To Technician

Middle School First Place:

Aiden Huber

Hebron Middle School

Dogs, Cats & Rats Adventure

Middle School Second Place:

Crystal Zheng

Hebron Middle School

Protector Maskey

Middle School Third Place:

Noah Coomes, Luke Smith

Hebron Middle School

Junk Food Platform